Sep 2022 1st Edition

Book an appointment for your smartID or passport online

Written by Allison Cooper

A new online appointment booking system, for smart ID cards and passports, is set to reduce the dreaded long queues for these two services at various Home Affairs offices across the country.

The Department of Home Affairs launched its Branch Appointment Booking System (BABS) in May, at selected Home Affairs offices, to enable customers to book an appointment to process smart ID card and passport applications.

“There are no appointments made or received for other Home Affairs services, such as marriage and birth certificates and requests for amendment or rectification of personal information,” says Siya Qoza, the spokesperson for the Minister of Home Affairs.

He explains that the BABS is being phased in at large Home Affairs offices that are already on the Live Capture (online) system, and 56 offices have already been added to the system.

Once you have booked your appointment, the system will automatically send you an SMS or email reminder three days before the appointment date. Should you wish to cancel or change your appointment, you can do so by logging back into the system.
Appointments are not transferable, so you cannot make an appointment and then give the slot to a friend or family member.

How to book

It’s quick and easy to book an appointment on the BABS.

  • Step 1: Visit
  • Step 2: Click on BABS.
  • Step 3: Enter your South African ID number.
  • Step 4: Enter your other personal details in the fields provided.
  • Step 5: Select your province, city and branch.
  • Step 6: Click on select timeslots.

For a list of all Home Affairs offices that currently offer online bookings for smart IDs and passports, call the Home Affairs Contact Centre at 0800 60 11 90 or visit….

The following offices offer the online booking system




  • PTA Regional Office (Byron) - Akasia - Alexandra
  • Soweto – Centurion – Roodepoort - Randburg
  • Alberton - Edenvale

Western Cape

  • Cape Town - Barrack street – Bellville - Paarl
  • Wynberg – Khayelitsha - George


  • Ndwedwe ïTongaat

Eastern Cape

  • Lusikisiki - Mthatha - Gqeberha

North West

  • Brits - Rustenburg - Klerksdorp


  • Groblersdal - Jane furse


  • Emalahleni (Witbank) - Mbombela (Nelspruit)
  • Ermelo
Share this page