Sept 2021 1st edition

Ready to serve South Africa

South Africa has a new group of Ministers and Deputy Ministers after President Cyril Ramaphosa made changes to his Cabinet as part of efforts to improve government.

President Cyril RamaphosaThe new Ministers and Deputy Ministers were sworn-in at the Union Buildings, in Pretoria recently.

The changes were also necessary to fill a number of vacancies in Cabinet, after the include passing of Minister Jackson Mthembu and Deputy Minister Bavelile Hlongwa, and the appointment of former Deputy Minister Parks Tau as an MEC in Gauteng.

In addition, Minister Zweli Mkhize stepped down as the Minister of Health and the President accepted Minister Tito Mboweni’s request to be excused from his position as Minister of Finance.

President Ramaphosa also announced changes to the structure of government departments, with the separation of the Ministry of Human Settlements from the Ministry of Water and Sanitation.

“At the beginning of this administration, we had brought these two portfolios together on the understanding that the provision of water is closely tied to the development of human settlements.

“However, the reality is that water is a far broader issue, impacting not only on human settlements, but also on agriculture, industry, mining and environmental management,” said President Ramaphosa.

The Ministry of Water and Sanitation will enable a dedicated focus on ensuring that all South Africans have access to a secure and sustainable supply of water, he added.

The President also announced that there will no longer be a Ministry of State Security and the political responsibility for the State Security Agency will now be with The Presidency.

“This is to ensure that the country’s domestic and foreign intelligence services more effectively enable the President to exercise his responsibility to safeguard the security and integrity of the nation,” he explained.

Cabinet Ministers:

  • Dr Joe Phaahla, the former Deputy Minister of Health, is the Minister of Health.
  • Enoch Godongwana is the Minister of Finance.
  • Mondli Gungubele, who served as Chairperson of Parliament’s Portfolio Committee on Social Development, is the Minister in The Presidency.
  • Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, who served as acting Minister in The Presidency as well as Minister of Small Business Development, is now Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies.
  • Thandi Modise, who served as Speaker of the National Assembly, is the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans.
  • Mmamoloko Kubayi, the former Minister of Tourism, is the Minister of Human Settlements.
  • Ayanda Dlodlo, the former Minister of State Security, is the Minister of Public Service and Administration.
  • Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, the former Minister of Communications, is the Minister of Small Business Development.
  • Lindiwe Sisulu, the former Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation, is the Minister of Tourism.
  • Senzo Mchunu, the former Minister of Public Service and Administration, is the Minister of Water and Sanitation.

Deputy Ministers:

  • Philemon Mapulane – Deputy Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies.
  • Dr Sibongiseni Dhlomo - Deputy Minister of Health.
  • Dr Nobuhle Nkabane - Deputy Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy.
  • Dr Chana Pilane-Majake - Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration.
  • Pinky Kekana, the former Deputy Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies, is the Deputy Minister in The Presidency.
  • Zoleka Capa - Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and Land Reform.
  • Thembi Nkadimeng - Deputy Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.
  • Sdumo Dlamini - Deputy Minister of Small Business Development.
  • Sindisiwe Chikunga - Deputy Minister of Transport.
  •  Dikeledi Magadzi - Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation.
  • Zizi Kodwa -Deputy Minister in The Presidency: State Security.


 Minister Dlodlo
Minister Phaahla
Minister Ntshavheni
Minister Gungubele
Minister Mchunu
Minister Godongwane
Minister Ndabeni-Abrahams
Minister Kubayi-Ngubane
Minister Sisulu
Minister Modise
Deputy Minister Dhlomo
Deputy Minister Kodwa
Deputy Minister Capa
Deputy Minister Nkabane
Deputy Minister Nkadimeng
Deputy Minister Chikunga
Deputy Minister Dlamini
Deputy Minister Mapulane
Deputy Minister Pilane-Majake
Deputy Minister Magadzi
Deputy Minister Kekana
Share this page