May 2010


The National Orders are the highest awards that a country, through its President, presents to its citizens and to foreign nationals. The President is assisted by the Director-General in The Presidency, who is the Chancellor of National Orders.

The following South Africans and foreign nationals were awarded National Orders at the 15th awards ceremony held on Freedom Day, 27 April 2010. These people have contributed towards the progress of democracy and made major contributions towards improving the lives of South Africans. Below are the images of orders, description and names of recipients of this orders.

The Order of Mapungubwe

The Order of Mapungubwe is given to South Africans for excellence and exceptional achievements.
Bronze: Monique Zaahl
Silver: Douglas Stuart Butterworth, Johan RE Lutjeharms

The Order of the Baobab

The Order of the Baobab for distinguished service is given to South Africans who have contributed to community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation.
Silver: Malebone Susan Luthuli, Malefu Mphathane, Imtiaz Sooliman, Vincent Naidoo
Gold: James Mata Dwane

The Order of Luthuli

The Order of Luthuli is given to South Africans who made a special contribution to the struggle for democracy, nation building, human rights, justice and peace and conflict resolution.
Silver: Sonia Beryl Bunting, Dorothy Cleminshaw, Nongolozi Jameson Mngomezulu, Jabulani Nobleman "Mzala" Nxumalo, James Randolph Vigne
Gold: Stephen Dlamini

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo is awarded to heads of state and other dignitaries for promoting peace, cooperation and friendship towards South Africa.
Silver: Vernon Berrange, George Houser, Lord Joel Joffe, Herbert and Joy Kaiser, Sadako Ogata
Gold: Joseph Sepp Blatter, President José Eduardo dos Santos, Issa Hayatou, Jacque Rogge

The Order of Ikhamanga

The Order of Ikhamanga is given to South Africans for outstanding achievements in arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport.
Silver: Ernst van Dyk, Grant Khomo, Peki Emelia Mkhwebane, Makana Football Association, Winston Ntshona, Percy Tseliso Qoboza
Gold: Jonas Gwangwa, Hugh Masekela

The Order of Mendi for Bravery

The Order of Mendi for Bravery is given to South Africans who have performed outstanding acts of bravery that placed their lives in great danger, or who lost their own lives in trying to save the life of another person, or by saving property, in or outside the Republic of South Africa.

Silver: Phila Portia "Zandi" Ndwandwe

Gold: Harry Themba Gwala, Kgosi Galeshewe, Makhosi "Tholi" Nyoka, the G5 Unit.

For more information on National Orders, call the Chancery on: 012 300-5423, or send an e-mail to

Share this page