Oct 2016 2nd Edition

Gauteng honours sports stars

Written by *Rofhiwa Marubini-Tshitahe

Sport, arts & culture

It was a night of glamour and purpose, as hundreds gathered at the Silverstar Casino in Mogale City to recognise Gauteng’s sports stars. Over 800 guests walked the black carpet during the glitzy ceremony to celebrate the champions of the province.

The sixth edition of the Gauteng Sport Awards 2016 saw cricketer Kagiso Rabada claiming the title of Sportsman of the Year and athlete Ayssa Conley taking Sportswoman of the Year.

Each finalist received R5 000 while every winner per category received R15 000. The Sport Personality Award winner was awarded R45 000 while the Life Time Achiever Award recipient received R50 000.

Read more about the winners in the next edition of Vuk’uzenzele.Minister Fikile Mbalula and MEC of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation in Gauteng Faith Mazibuko with the winners at the sports awards.

Here are the winners:

Sportswoman of the Year with a disability
Zandile Nhlapo for javelin & shot-put.           

Sportsman of the Year with a disability
Ntando Innocent Mahlangu for Athletics: 100m, 200m, 400m, and 800m.                                                             

Sports Team of the Year with a disability
Central Gauteng Blind Cricket Team for cricket.                    

Administrator of the Year
Karen Losch for wheelchair tennis.           

Coach of the Year
Geoffrey Toyana for cricket. 

Most Promising team of the Year
Pretoria Technical High School 1st Team Rugby for Rugby.

Sports team of the Year
Xerox Golden Lions Currie Cup Team 2015.                        

Most promising player/athlete
Siphamandla Hadebe for volleyball.

Sports journalists of the Year
Charles Baloyi for Daily Sun/Sunday Sun.                                                  

Technical official of the Year
Mpho Makhoba for Tennis.

Community media of the Year
Tshepo Thafeng for Soweto TV.                                            

School sport athlete of the Year
Nokwande Hlongwane for Wheelchair Tennis SA/Adelaide Tambo School.

Community sport and recreation programme of the Year
Johannesburg Spikers Volleyball Academy for volleyball.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mme Rosina Sedibane

Sport Fan of the Year
William Mukwevho                                             

Sport Programme of the Year
Sportsbuzz- SABC1

Sport Personality of theYear
Andrea Dalle Ave for athletics

Sportsman of the Year
Kagiso Rabada

Sportswoman of the Year
Alyssa Conley


*Rofhiwa Marubini-Tshitahe works for Office of the Premier in Gauteng.

Share this page