Available at GCIS provincial offices, GCIS district offices & Thusong centres in your area!


Major facelift for 20 townships

Know your minister

Rundown townships in Gauteng will soon receive major facelifts, thanks to the province's 20 Priority Township Project. The project aims to improve the lives of citizens by changing 20 townships into decent residential areas.

Billions of rands have been put aside to build safe and sustainable communities where residents will have decent shelter with all necessary facilities, such as clinics, roads, schools, sport and recreation facilities, streetlights and shopping malls.

The project received support from the provincial Department of Roads and Public Transport and the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Environment. This enables the Department of Housing to improve infrastructure, including tarring roads, providing electricity, water and sanitation, building and renovating houses and planting trees.

The townships which will benefit from the project are Atteridgeville/Saulsville, Soshanguve, Mamelodi, Kagiso, Munsieville, Mohlakeng, Boipatong, Bophelong, Sharpeville, Sebokeng, Ratanda, Katlehong, Kwatsaduza (KwaThema, Tsakane, and Duduza), Wattville, Daveyton, Tembisa, Refilwe, Rethabiseng as well as Orlando and Zola in Soweto.

For more nformation, call the Department of Roads and Public Transport at 011 355 6000.