Jul 2016 1st Edition

NSFAS launches online application system

Written by Nonkululeko Mathebula
Students from different institutions throughout South Africa pursuing financial assistance from the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) will no longer have to apply manually for funding.

The NSFAS launched the online application system with the intention of making funding for higher education easily accessible and to cut long queues and delayed feedback.

The online application system allows students to apply once for the duration of their studies. If the application is approved, they will be funded for the duration of their studies and won’t have to re-apply every year.

Speaking to Vuk’uzenzele, department of higher education spokesperson Khaye Nkwanyana said the system will be fully functioning and accessible in all institutions of higher learning including colleges by 2018.

“Although accessible in 10 varsities thus far, we are proud of what we have been able to achieve and the point really is to do away with the challenges faced by students,” said Nkwanyana.

 Who may apply for financial aid?
  • South African citizens who have academic potential to succeed at university and require financial assistance to pay for their studies.
  • First-time applicants who have never received NSFAS funding previously.
  • First-year students who never received NSFAS funding previously
  • Returning students who never received NSFAS funding previously.
  • Returning students who received funding before 2014.
  • The institutions that have access to the NSFAS’s online application system and offer second semester and trimester-based studies include all campuses of the University of South Africa (UNISA) and Durban University of Technology (DUT).
TVET Colleges:
  • Vhembe TVET College;
  • Buffalo City TVET College;
  • King Hintsa TVET College;
  • Motheo TVET College;
  • Umfolozi TVET College;
  • Ekurhuleni East TVET College;
  • South Cape TVET College;
  • Port Elizabeth TVET College;
  • Tshwane North TVET College;
  • Orbit TVET College;
  • South West TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni West TVET College;
  • Central Johannesburg College;
  • Cape Town TVET College;
  • Northlink TVET College;
  • False Bay TVET College and West Coast TVET College.

 Students who wish to apply at institutions which have piloted the programme can visit www.nsfas.org.za

Share this page