Nov 2015 2nd Edition

2015 Sport Awards nominees announced

Written by Neo Semono

Sport, arts and culture, youth

The Department of Sport and Recreation will host the SA Sports Awards for the 10th year later this month. 

Sports and Recreation Minister Fikile Mbalula. “This is a significant milestone and we’re celebrating the best sporting moments of the past 10 years, best moments of the Sport Awards and the best sport people that this country has produced,” said Minister Fikile Mbalula.

The minister also announced the nominees for this year’s awards.

“Every year the SA Sport Awards adopts a creative theme which is used to rally support and excitement. We’ve gone with #IZINJAZEGAME… The Best for 2015. The majority of South Africans can identify with this colloquial phrase which, loosely translated, means that you are the top dog, the best at what you do,” said the Minister.

The theme for this year’s awards are under the theme “Excellence is not being your best; it is doing your best”.

The awards will be broadcast live on
 SABC 1 on 22 November 2015.

Nominees in Sportsman of the Year
  •     Greg Minaar
  •     Chad Le Clos
  •     Wayde van Niekerk
Nominees in the Sportswoman of the Year
  •       Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
  •       Shabnim Ismail
  •       Bridgitte Hartley
Nominees in the Sportsman of the Year with Disability
  •       Lucas Sithole
  •       Ernst van Dyk
  •       Pieter du Preez
The nominees for the Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability
  •       Kgothatso Montjane
  •       Ilse Hayes
  •       Peggy De Villiers

Among other nominees include those in the Newcomer of the Year category namely: Nokwanda Hlongwane, Jayde Andrew Julius and Kagiso Rabada while the Coach of the Year nominees are Holger Losch, Geoffrey Toyana, Roger Barrow and Graham Hill. Meanwhile the Federation of the Year nominees are Roller Sport, Cycling and Basketball.

This year’s awards will bring pleasant changes to the most contested category - the Sports Star of the Year. The category will now be nominated and voted for by a panel of sport editors from different media houses.

Each media house will nominate two sport stars and motivate their recommendation, the panel will then vote for the ultimate winner.

The public still gets an opportunity to vote for their favourite sport star by SMS. This category is the People’s Choice Award. The nominees for the 2015 People’s Choice Award are AB De Villiers; Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio; Chad le Clos; Lucas Sithole and Wayde van Niekerk.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Sand du Plessis Theatre in Mangaung, Free State.

“The Sport Awards celebrate excellence throughout the country and taking the event to the people is a critical part of our mandate. We are excited and promise the people ofMangaung a celebration,” explained the Minister.

A fan park at the Seisa Ramabodu Stadium will ensure that the public participate in the festivities of the awards.

Each category nominee receives R15 000 cash and the winner in each category receives R130 000.

The winner for the Sport Star of the Year receives a luxury vehicle, R500 000 for themselves and R500 000 to donate to a charity of their choice. The People’s Choice Award winner also receives a luxury vehicle, R500 000 for themselves and R500 000 to donate to a charity of their choice.

The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) will be the official broadcaster of the SA Sport Awards.

Group chief executive officer Frans Matlala said: “We are proud that as a public service broadcaster, we will be able to take our viewers and listeners on a journey towards these prestigious awards, which aim to recognise and reward our sporting champions and icons.

Minister Mbalula said the country’s sporting heroes continue to make the nation proud.

“The Sport Awards gives us all an opportunity to pay tribute to those who excel both on and off the field. We’re always inspired by our athletes as they continue to push boundaries and reach new heights of excellence,” said Minister Mbalula.


Share this page